Jay-Z’s ROC Lit 101 Is Now A Random House Imprint; To Release First Books In 2021

Jay-Z’s Roc Nation has formed an imprint with Random House called Roc Lit 101, promising to bring “genre-defying literature” that draw from pop culture and critical issues. Some of the first books to be released from Roc Lit 101 include:

  • Shine Bright by Danyel Smith (due out July 6, 2021) which will “tell the story of black women in music—from the Dixie Cups to Gladys Knight to Janet, Whitney, and Mariah—as the foundational story of American pop
  • Till the End by CC Sabathia (due out June 1, 2021) which is about “one of the most beloved baseball players of his generation, a raw, compelling story of baseball, family, fame, addiction, loss, and a champion’s resilience
  • memoirs by rappers Meek Mill, Yo Gotti and Fat Joe
  • fantasy fiction by Lil Uzi Vert
  • cookbooks
  • children’s stories

Chris Jackson will be the editor-in-chief of One World, an imprint of Random House, as well as Jana Fleishman.

Leave a Reply